Advisory and Editorial Boards

  •  Member of the Multi-stakeholder Advisor Committee (MAC) of UNEP’s Sustainable Building and Construction programme
  • Editorial Board for Building Research and Information (BRI) Journal, Taylor and Francis Publishers
  • Editorial Advisory Board of Earthworks
  • Advisory Board Appointment for Cape Construction Expo & Smart Buildings and Infrastructure Summit
  • Panel of experts for the Climate Change Innovation Centre (CIC)
  • Coordinator of Smart and Sustainable Built Environment Working Group (W116) for the Construction Industry Board
  • Advisor on iiSBE, CIB, UNEP-SBCI, FIDIC and Global ABC international GHG survey.

Scientific Journal Reviews

  • Reviewer for Building Research and Information(BRI) Journal
  • Reviewer for Building and Environment
  • Reviewer for Environment, Development and Sustainability
  • Review for Bulletin of Geography
  • Reviewer for Habitat
  • Reviewer for Smart and Sustainable Built Environments (SASBE) Journal, Emerald Publishers
  • Reviewer for Facilities Journal, Emerald Publishers
  • Reviewer for Acta Structilia Journal, University of the Free State

Review Panels and Committees

  • South Africa in the Digital Age  (SADA) panel organised by Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS) in partnership with the Oxford University to provide input on a forward-looking digital economic strategy for South Africa and is linked to South Africa’s Public-Private Growth Initiative (PPGI) between the Presidency and the private sector.
  • National Research Foundation (NRF) Researcher Rating Reviews
  • National Research Foundation (NRF) Grant Reviews
  • CSIR Researcher Rating Panel
  • CSIR Strategic Research Panel (SRP)
  • CSIR Capital Project Review Panel
  • CSIR Knowledge Commons Steering Committee
  • Centres of Specialisation Committee set up by DHET to for R600million TVET college capacity building programme
  • University Master Planning Review Panel set up by the DHET to review University Master Plans
  • Panel of experts for the Climate Change Innovation Centre (CIC) of the Innovation Hub
  • Panel of experts for the evaluation of DBSA Green Fund Proposals
    Department of Environment, New Office Accommodation Public Private Partnership (PPP) Design Adjudication
  • Department of Trade and Industry, New Office Accommodation Public Private Partnership (PPP) Design Adjudication
  • Competition Review Panel Member and Chair of School Design Competition for the Oprah Winfrey School for Girls
  • Pretoria Institute for Architecture Committee Member
    Pretoria Institute for Architecture Adjudicator for the Architecture Awards of Merit
  • Ministry of Public Works, Swaziland, Inclusive School Design Competition Adjudicator
  • Gauteng Department of Education, New School Design Review

Scientific Committees

  • International Scientific Programme Committee, CIB World Congress, Constructing Smart Cities, 17-21 June 2019, Hong Kong
  • Scientific Board, Steering Committee, Scientific Committee, SASBE2018, 5-7 December 2018, Sydney Australia
  • 3rd International Sustainable Buildings Symposium – ISBS2017 Dubai, United Arab Emirates, 2017
  • Passive and Low Energy Architecture (PLEA) Conference, California, USA, July 11-13, 2016
  • Chairman of Scientific Committee, SASBE2015, Pretoria, South Africa
    Seventh Quantity Surveying Conference 2014; Mapping the Future 21-23 September 2014
  • Scientific Committee, SB13 Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Scientific Committee, World Building Congress 2013, Brisbane, Australia
  • Scientific Committee, Sustainable Building 2013, Cape Town, South Africa
  • Scientific Committee, Smart and Sustainable Building 2012 (SASBE 12) in Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Internal Cost Engineering Council 8th World Congress ICEC 2012 Technical Review Committee, Durban, South Africa
  • International Scientific Committee, SB10, Helsinki, Finland
  • Scientific Committee Smart and Sustainable Building 09 (SASBE 09) in Delft, Netherlands
  • International Editorial Board, International Sustainable Buildings Symposium ISBS 2010, Gazi University, Ankara, Turkey
  • Scientific Committee on Sustainable Architecture and Urban Development Conference 2009, Tripoli, Lebanon
  • Scientific Committee, Sustainable Building 08 (SB08) Melbourne, Australia